What’s £1 lipstick really like?

poundlipsticks.png

Before I went cruelty free I honestly never even glanced at £1 lipsticks  automatically thinking they would be complete rubbish.  I always chose high end lipsticks believing them to be far superior  to high-street brands let alone those with a £1 price tag.  However since a lot of the cheaper makeup brands don’t test on  animals I thought I’d give them a try.

I’ve decided to give these lip sticks a fair trial and haven’t used any  lip liner underneath and have applied them straight from the tube.

MUA

mualip.png

 

My favourite thing about MUA lipsticks is the handy little screw of cap that  contains a small pot of lip colour, perfect if your applying your lipstick with a brush. The shade I tried is shade 1 which is a lovely deep cherry colour. The colour glides on beautifully, gives a good wash of colour, has  average staying power and doesn’t dry out the lips.  The only problem I have is it does smell like a cheap lipstick- although I must say this doesn’t necessarily effect the quality of the  product as I have an old Dior lipstick ( purchased before going CF)  that smelt very strongly of cheap play makeup you had as a kid 🙂

 

muamuaswatch

Makeup Revolution

makeuprev.png

I featured this Makeup Revolution lipstick in my February favourites and although I still like this product, now that I’ve used it without lipliner underneath I can see this  isn’t a lipstick that’s staying on for very long on its own. This colour deep dark berry colour in 100% vamp is a great dark berry  colour but without any lipliner to lock it this bleeds terribly and the  colour tends to come of the middle of your lips.  It’s difficult to apply as the lipstick itself is so watery and you can  end up with an uneven finish that will last you the best of five minutes. Like with the MUA lipstick I love that this has a removable lipstick pot  on one end and the packaging is simple but sleek.

2016-23-4--13-35-04.png

2016-23-4--13-41-18.png

Makeup Gallery ( Poundland)

poundland.png

As I’ve mentioned before I really love Poundland’s nail varnishes but I do have  some problems with their lipsticks. I just hate the packaging! It’s a very cheap,  thin plastic that’s really awkward to remove and tends to get caught on the  lipstick as you pull of the lid taking chunks of colour with it.  It also has that same cheapy scent like the MUA.  This colour is in Deep red and has the best staying power out of the  other two lipsticks ( although nothing spectacular).  This is very hydrating on the lips and glides on with  minimal effort giving a wash of colour on first application.

makeupgallery

makeupgalleryswatch

 

I would recommend purchasing lipsticks from either of these brands but  I’d encourage you to not skip the lipliner if you want better staying power  but with the huge range of colours and pound price tag you really complain.

 

 

Do you have any £1 lipsticks that you love?

10 thoughts on “What’s £1 lipstick really like?

Leave a Reply

