My skincare routine

allskincare.png

My skincare routine is really important to me, it doesn’t matter if I’m tired ,  hungover or even ill in bed it’s something I never skip.

I’ve simplified my routine in the last couple of months as using  too many skincare items confused my skin a little and found reducing g the amount of products worked better for me.

 When looking for skincare products I look for two things- the product obviously has to be cruelty free and contain some  form of natural ingredients.

 So now for my skin type. I would say I have normal skin which can be  prone to dryness around my forehead and nose.  I don’t really get many blemishes so I don’t feel I need a targeted spot treatment- if I do get the odd spot I tend to just dab a bit of tea tree oil on it.

Morning routine

daytimeskin.png

My morning skincare routine is really quick and simple

Step one- I wash my face with cold water. I don’t use a wash off cleanser in the  morning because I don’t feel my skin needs it and I always thoroughly remove my makeup in the evening.

Step 2.

I wipe my face over with a cotton pad soaked with micellar water. I’m currently using the Good Things Acai Berry multi-tasking micellar water.  This smells great as it contains skin boosting blueberry,mango and  acai berry extract. If I’m honest I was quite disappointed when I first  tried this as after rubbing onto my skin it seemed to leave a soapy  residue ( is that good or bad I don’t know?) but it’s not sticky and  it does sink into the skin so no need to wash it off. It’s gentle and soothing and leaves my face feeling fresh

Step 3.

I featured  Sanctuary Spa Illuminating Whipped Moisture Creme in my  march monthly favourite here and it’s become a staple in my  morning skincare. It really hydrates my skin and contains  shea butter, pink pomelo and kakadu plum which all  work together to illuminate the skin. I find this product works really well under makeup and doesn’t  interfere with your foundation when you apply it.

Step 4. 

I’m a bit of a night owl and probably don’t get as much sleep as I  should and it does take it’s toll under my eyes so when I found  Laid Bare Pack your Bags eyecream I was sold. This contains buckwheat ( which helps to reduce puffiness and bags),  cotton seed oil and wild mango butter. I’m not completely convinced this product works but it does  make me feel more awake in the morning.  As this isn’t the holy grail of eyecream and I haven’t found one  yet once this is finished I’ll be trying something new.

Nightime routine

nightroutine.png

Step 1

I remove my makeup with coconut oil as I find it just melts my makeup  off without irritating my eyes. If you struggle to find a makeup remover  that removes all your makeup coconut oil will change your life.  I also make sure I get plenty of this on the back of my lashes as it  keeps them nicely conditioned.

 

Step 2

My favourite cleanser at the moment is Burt’s Bee’s Intense Hydration  Cream Cleanser. It’s really gentle and makes your skin soft after use. This cleanser is 99% natural and contains Clary Sage which  helps the skin to retain moisture.

 

Step 3.

 

Pure Super Grape Nightcream ( Marks and Spencers) is another hydrating  product that contains you guessed it grape!. This product is interesting because it’s made with the extracts of  the grape pulp used to make M&S wine- I really like that I know exactly where these ingredients are coming  from and the grape extract claims to protect the skin 90% against free radicals This is really smooth and leaves my skin feeling soft and doesn’t  leave a thick or greasy residue.

Step 4.

Same as step 4 of day routine.

Twice a week

scrub edited.png

I use a scrub twice a week and I really love this.Superdrug Naturally Radiant  Micro Polish Scrub. It contains kiwi fruit and mulberry ( which gives it it’s rich fruity smell)         and fruit acids. This scrub isn’t too harsh and doesn’t  leave any redness after use.

Weekly treatment- Facial oil

oils.png

 

I use Balm Balm Frankincense Light Oil or Dr Organic Moroccan Argan oil  to give myself a facial massage once a week. I really enjoy this weekly treatment not only because it makes my  skin look and feel better it’s also really relaxing. I take about 20 minutes once a week and give my face a good  oil massage using my fingers and the bodyshop’s facial massager.

Face Masks

scrubfinal.png

 

I used to use a face mask once a week but I found by just saving these  for when my skin’s looking particually dull it makes more of a difference to my face. Good things Five minute facial containing Avacado and Goji Berry is in a clay  form and is a quick and easy mask to apply and remove if I’m pushed for time. My favourite face mask has to be the Bodyshop Honey and Oat 3 in 1 scrub mask,  it smells amazing and I actually get compliments on the radiance of my skin  after I have used this

What are your favourite skin care products?

5 thoughts on “My skincare routine

Leave a Reply

